PHYSICALLY CHALLENGED


Today I am thinking about the physically challenged in the society. I must say that I had respect for such people, but at this point in time, it has doubled up. I respect them much more than I could ever tell.

It has been two months now since I fell and got a minor fracture in my arm. Although its now almost totally healed, trust me it has not been easy maneuvering my way around. It feels more helpless when you want to do something but can not, because a part of you is not able to. There are times I feel like I am becoming deficient of patience. I want to wake up and act as if everything is alright. Sometimes I go out of my way and do major tasks that greatly cost me my sleep because of the pain that comes as a result.
This experience has taught me to appreciate the simple things in life. It has made me learn that as much as you have people around you, they will not always be willing to help…And even if they are, they get tired at some point and you have to find a way of doing your own things no matter how much pain that would bring.

2012 Santa Clarita Marathon

2012 Santa Clarita Marathon (Photo credit: Rennett Stowe)

And today I am thinking of that person who has to deal with a physical challenge all the days of his/her life. It doesn’t really matter if that challenge is major or minor, permanent or temporary. The bottom line is that they have a part of them that is not functional or if it is, its not at its best functionality.
The most interesting observation I have made, is that these people rarely complain about their status. They have learnt to appreciate themselves the way they are and go about their daily activities normally and at ease. They face major challenges everyday like being discriminated upon by the society, but they still live life large and explore their dreams.
Today as I write this piece, I am greatly humbled. I want to challenge you not  to take the simple things in life for granted. If you wake up and you are whole, you ought to thank God for it. It is not just normal or routine. It takes His grace and favour.
Lets appreciate our brothers and sisters who have physical challenges. Lets love them, support them, encourage them, be there for them and treat them like our very own.

I request you all to join me as we bow down in respect for any person out there who is living with a disability.

Related articles
2 thoughts on “PHYSICALLY CHALLENGED

  1. Enjoyed your post great job!

    Sadly people just do not understand what a disability means as well how can they understand unless they have a disability or they have a loved one living with a disability.

    Many people living with disabilities do not have disabilities people can see they are hidden and well we live in a visual world. We must remember that disabilities can come in all forms, emotional, mental, physical. Any form of a disability is a challenge to say the least for the person living with a disability and their loved ones. Thank you for taking a moment to write this post today.

    GOD bless you and your family two and four-legged!
    Melody

    Like

Leave a Reply

