It’s the small things…


That count! Cliché saying yet so real. Those teeny-weeny things we do, actually do make a difference. So, most of you have been wondering how I spent my birthday…To begin with, my birthday was on 25th April 2014 (Pardon my late post, everything has been moving on fast forward). I travelled to Kisumu the day prior to my birthday, to cover an event. Being in the communications field, I spent my day in the scorching sun, behind the lens, looking out for infrequent moments from the otherwise familiar ones. It felt really nice at the end of it all to have captured them all. Actually, I found myself so lost in work that I kept forgetting that it was my day and would only remember at the beep of my phone. Most weirdly, this is the day I received so so so many phone calls from people I haven’t even talked to in ages. All the same, felt really nice to receive all the love and get a reminder that people actually do care to remember my birthday 🙂

So, what exactly did I do for my birthday?

Birthday cake (Black forest flavour from cake city..Yummy :-)

Birthday cake (Black forest flavour from cake city)…Yummy 🙂

I celebrated my birthday on Saturday 26th, April (Yes! I had a small kinda celebration). Despite the exhaustion I felt from the previous day’s events and travelling, I managed to get on my feet and go to Dorothy children’s home where I held my birthday. The home is located at Thome in the heart of Marurui slum. It is a safe haven for orphans and vulnerable children who are victims of HIV, abandonment and Post Election Violence. I started volunteering at the home in September 2013 and ever since then, am sold out to the kids. Yes! I’m in love. That is the sole reason why I chose to spend my day with them. The joy of it all wasn’t in the snacks or the celebration. It was in the love I received (so priceless). From the moment I entered that gate, the kids came rushing towards me and suffocated me with boundless hugs almost causing me to fall. It had been a while since I visited and they reminded me that I should never go for two months again without visiting them. I call them my little sisters and they call me big siz. When I had last visited they were 23 and I was delighted to find one new family member making them a total of 24 kids now.

And the little angels helped me cut the cake...

And the little angels helped me cut the cake…

We had much fun. From playing, to singing, cake cutting and then speeches from the management and the kids. Breathe of heaven! The innocently crafted words came straight from their hearts and whenever they spoke, I could see the depth of the love in the words from their eyes. I could see it that they felt so loved and I am certain they appreciated my being there. Their mum, Rose, who takes care of them did not understand what love made me choose them over my friends. The thing is, I am not going to aim at making my birthday a pomp and glamour event but I will strive to make a difference. I want to remember my birthdays as the light in someone’s eyes, the smile on someone’s face or the love beyond measure. Even if it is just that silent, broke moment spent with someone who needs some love, I will gear towards touching a life.

Sharing cake with the ever smiling Joy...

Sharing cake with the ever smiling Joy…

Rose Kanini takes care of the pretty angels and they call her mum. A piece for a superwoman :-)

Rose Kanini takes care of the pretty angels and they call her mum. A piece for a superwoman 🙂

Rev. Elias Mbaabu the founder of the home receives a piece too :-)

Rev. Elias Mbaabu the founder of the home receives a piece too 🙂

Let there be cake

Let there be cake!!!

And we take a groupie...yaaaayyy :-) Note the piece of paper in my hand, well it was given to me by Nancy :-) Has a nice drawing of a princess and a message "Beatrice you are my sister...I love you. God Bless you for what you have done to us"

And we take a groupie…yaaaayyy 🙂 Note the piece of paper in my hand, well it was given to me by Nancy 🙂 Has a nice drawing of a princess and a message “Beatrice you are my sister…I love you. God Bless you for what you have done to us.”

My namesake Beatrice and I pose for a pic.

My namesake Beatrice and I pose for a photo.

So, in case you are seated there wondering how to celebrate your birthday, it doesn’t have to be grandiose, just a small little thing…Why don’t you reach out to the world around you and put a smile on someone’s face? It is the small things that count.

:-) :-) Yummy Yum :-)

🙂 🙂 Yummy Yum 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “It’s the small things…

  1. Beatrice, I am overwhelmed by your actions. Celebrating your Birthday at a children’s Home? This shows that you really have a huge heart….you care about other people and their feelings too. You have a lot of love to give and its a good thing. 2nd Peter Chapter 1 Says – May grace and peace be multiplied unto you through the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord.

    Like

Leave a Reply

